It’s a……scarf

So about two weeks before Christmas, my sister-in-law drops a hint that she would like a scarf.  Since, I wanted to make part of the gifts that I gave away, I was okay with this.  And then it spiraled out and I wound up making a scarf for my mother-in law and one for my grandma.

This is the scarf I made for my SIL.  She wanted a long skinny scarf.   I decided to use my stash yarn.  This cost me about 50 cents to make.  I had bought the yarn on sale for a quarter a skein and used almost 2 skeins.

Supplies:

Lion Brand Yarn Hometown USA in Green Bay Green   2 skeins

Size N crochet hook

blunt end needle

Scissors

Ruler

 

 

So here’s what I did:

Chain stitch 253, turn

Half double crochet (hdc)  in third loop, creating first hdc, hdc across

chain 2, turn, hdc across

Complete 4 rows

Finish off and weave in ends.

Cut 24 15″ strands of yarn and attach to end of scarf, to create fringe.

 

The great thing about the Hometown USA is that it is a very bulky yarn and you are done in no time.

 

Now for my MIL and grandmother’s scarves I did things a little different:

Supplies are same as above except the color of yarn used.  My MIL wanted a Ohio State University scarf, so I used Cincinnati Red and New York White.  For my grandmother, I made a Delta Panther inspired scarf with Green Bay and New York White.  2 Skeins of the Cincinnati Red and Green Bay were used and 1 of New York White

With Cincinnati Red Chain 153.

Turn and hdc in third loop.  hdc across.

Chain 2 changing to New York White.  hdc across in back loops only (blo).

Chain 2 changing to Cincinnati Red.  hdc in blo across.

Chain 2 changing to New York White.  hdc in blo across.

Chain 2 changing to Cincinnati Red.  hdc in blo across.

Fasten off and weave in ends.

Cut 12 pieces of each color yarn. Using one strand of each color attach six fringes on each end.

For the Delta Panther scarf color scheme is Green Bay, New York White, Green Bay, New York White, Green Bay

Leave a Reply

